Posted 5 months ago
Waterfall Bay walk, Fortescue Bay campground South East Tasmania close Eaglehawk Neck and Port Arthur.
The area known as the Bay of Fires lies on on Tasmania’s North East Coast and extends from Binalong Bay at the Southern end to Eddystone Point on the Northeastern tip. This name was given to the area by Captain Tobias Furneaux in 1773 when he spotted several fires along the coast, leading him to believe that the country was densely populated. Evidence of occupation of this area by Aboriginal people can be seen along the coast today. A scenic view of the bay can be glimpsed by driving along the coast to The Gardens, near St. Helens. This picturesque area was named by Lady Jane Franklin, the wife of Governor John Franklin, who spent time in the region.
Region of Tasmania
Start Of Walk
Various walks in this area
Walker Registration Required
Mobile Phone Reception
Great camping available all along this great walk